looking for:
Manila, National Capital Region, Philippines
In my own words:

I grew up in New York City and went to college in upstate New York. After college, I worked as an editor and then became a language teacher. I have been teaching for about 20 years, and have taught (mostly at universities) in South Korea, Thailand, Vietnam, the USA, Oman and now in Cambodia. I have an MA in linguistics from Ohio University, and worked on (but didn't finish) a Ph.D. in applied linguistics.

I have never been married and have no kids. I'm single, want to find someone to settle down with, but I don't want to have kids (at my age, I don't think it would be fair to the kid(s) or the mom -- I can give you a more detailed explanation if you wish). That is important to me, so if you're set on having kids, we wouldn't be a good match (although I'd be happy to be friends). I also want someone who wants to have her own life, career and sense of herself.

I'm an atheist, but am very spiritual -- I don't believe in God, but I believe that there are a lot of things about the universe that we do not understand, and that we are surrounded by beauty in a million forms. I also strongly believe in social justice, and that it is important to leave the world a better place than how it was when I came into it. I do my best to be kind at all times, although I am not as good at it as I could be... :)

I also try hard to be tolerant and accepting, but I find that difficult sometimes (especially when dealing with intolerant, prejudiced people). I tend to be impatient... I work hard most of the time, but can be very lazy about some things (especially cleaning :) ).

I also love to eat -- either dining in or out. I love to cook, but hate to do dishes. Everybody says that I'm a good cook, and whenever I'm with my family at the holidays, they always get me to cook the main dish.

I love to travel, but I don't like traveling itself -- I know what airports and bus stations look like, so I prefer visiting one place for a week or two to a whirlwind itinerary. I've visited about 15 countries in Europe, Central America, the Caribbean and Asia, but am always happy to travel more...

I drink (not a lot, but every day... maybe 2 or 3 beers, for example) and smoke (a lot, but I am sick of it and am planning to quit soon). I won't smoke around you if it bothers you.

I am emotionally available and open and honest with others. I love to have real conversations and share my feelings, and I feel honored when people share their feelings with me. I know how to listen and not judge people for their pasts (I hope nobody judges me on my own past :) ). I have a lot to give, a lot to share, and I love to do both.

Body type:
5' 11" 
Light brown 
Caucasian (white) 
Home and family
Marital status:
Single / never married 
Have kids:
Want (more) kids:
Professional life
Employment status:
Playing music, Gardening, Television, Computers / Internet, Cooking, Travel, Theater, Reading, Photography, Listening to music, Movies, Family, Dining, Community service, Arts 
Sense of humor:
Other, Raunchy, Obscure, Slapstick, Goofy, Campy / Cheesy, Dry / Sarcastic, Clever / Quick witted, Friendly 
Education / Academic research 
Recent activity ( Writing contacts information in the Timeline is not allowed ).
It's quiet around here... be the first one to write something!